Week 3: Social Media

After reading “The Teacher’s Guide to Twitter” on Edudemic I thought that their point about creating and not just consuming ideas on Twitter was an important reminder. I have had a twitter account for quite a while already and I use it for reading and posting. However, I hardly ever tweet back at people when they share their ideas. When I think about this it does not make sense at all. How can I expect others to comment or tweet back at me and the ideas or questions that I share if I do not use the same practice? Lately I have not been using my twitter account very much at all because I was not finding it valuable to read all of the tweets from the people I follow. There is a lot of useful information to go through in this article. I think it would be beneficial for me to try and use TweetDeck to improve my organization and engagement. Since I am a visual learner, I quite enjoyed the visuals that were included with this article. I especially enjoyed the Popular Education Hashtags and Twitter – Cheat Sheet. These two images organize the information in an easy to read way. Using the popular educational hashtags highlighted here I will be able to connect with more educators on twitter. I really liked the first tip on the cheat sheet for the purposes of retweeting. The last item of the article includes a more detailed hashtag guide that explains different hashtags that you can use. I also read “10 ways Twitter makes me a better educator” and I took four important points from this post. Twitter gives you a space to share your thoughts on education with world, gives you credibility in being connected, helps you reach other educators and experts, and allows you access to new information at any time. There are definitely a lot of positives with Twitter if you know how to use it.

I think that I would like to try using Instagram in the classroom after reading about it in “How to Use Social Media in Education”. Students can highlight their learning and you can see what other teachers are doing in this image sharing space. There is a link to another article that shows how Instagram can connect to different subject areas. I like how this tool engages students in their learning. I guess that I would have questions about privacy in using this tool though.

My cooperating teacher for pre-internship used Facebook with her Gr. 1 classroom to update parents and post pictures of the students and what they were learning about each day. It was a great way to communicate home and post little reminders about what is going on in the classroom. I think this was very accessible for parents because so many people already have Facebook; when they are on it they can simply hop over to their child’s class Facebook and check out what is happening in their classroom. The students are also excited to share this with their parents and grandparents.

I like the idea of having a Facebook account for my classroom. Having this blog has made me think more about how I could involve students in a blog or on twitter. However, I can see more applications in using social media with older students than with early elementary students. I am not really sure how social media would work in a younger classroom. This is something that I will have to investigate further. I know that there are Early Childhood Educators out there that I will be able to learn from.

One thought on “Week 3: Social Media

Leave a Reply

